Missing items/folders in Group Policy Editor(gpedit.msc)

Posted on November 19, 2008. Filed under: Tips & Tricks | Tags: , , , , , , , |

I was having a problem with the Group Policy Editor, gpedit.msc, for quite some time. When i open it up, i dont see most folders and items that are necessary for an admin. All i see in the User Components > Administrative Templates is Windows Components. There should have been 6 other folders, like Start Menu and Taskbar & Control Panel, along with it.

I searched the net for some time and all i got from Microsoft is http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555218. And, the same thing in many other forums which did not solve the problem. But today i saw the real solution that worked for me. Here it is.

 

  1. Goto Start > Run, and type in gpedit.msc.
  2. Right-click on User Configuration > Administrative Templates.
  3. Click on Add/Remove Templates… in the pop-up menu.
  4. Click the button Add… in the dialog box.
  5. In the file open dialog box named Policy Templates, select system.adm, and click the Open button.
  6. You will now see the missing items/folders.
  7. Congratulations!!! You’ve secured the perimeter.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

45 Responses to “Missing items/folders in Group Policy Editor(gpedit.msc)”

RSS Feed for Jais’  Weblog Comments RSS Feed

Hey thanks for the post! This is exactly what I was looking for. Couldn’t figure out why two new machine installs differed and I couldn’t get the Roaming Profiles settings up in the admin templates.

Glad to see that the post was useful.

Great tip, my System folder was missing in GPEDIT. Well written and concise tip.

Thanks much

Hi,
This was what I was looking for but when I right click Administrative Templates all I see is inetres.adm and no other templates. Why is this?

Nice! This is what im looking for. Thanks!

Thank you!!!! I reinstalled Win-XP once because of this. I would never though of that.

Jais,
Thank you for the post!
ES

Thanks for that Jais – been searching 2 days to sort that prob out !

Thank you….took a while to find this solution, and it worked!!

Fantastic you don’t know how long i’v been trying to sort this out… thanks alot

Thank you so much!! You made my day :)

Thanks so much. Your tip worked and is now part of my “tips” file.

Yes, this worked straight up!!!!! I searched all day for an answer.. your worked first time. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

our IT person was not helpful.
thanks for the solution

Having the same problem and ur solutions worked.
tx a mili

I can’t find “system.adm” in the Policy Templates. What can i do?

YOURE GOOD! Thanks!

OMG! Thank you so much….been searching for an answer for hours! Not even MS had this simple fix listed. I have built 50 other identical machines, and this new issue had me stumped! No idea why this particular machine needed this fix, but you nailed it! TY TY TY THANK YOU!!!!

Such an elegant solution! I’ve had this problem for months; and now, finally it’s been laid to rest.
Thank you so much! :)

Brilliant. Had this exact problem, and it has been giving me a headache. Thanks for the solution, it worked great :D

cool dude! i just had this problem yesterday. this is so helpful. thanks!

Thanks. Exactly what I needed.

thanks so much dude.
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;816662

that was really exactly what i was looking for

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Spent about 4 hrs trying to figure this out.

Gold! cheers.

Muito bom. Resolveu meu problema.

Hey Thanks for the Post.. Its Really Amazing..

thanks!!! just wath i was lookingfor

gracias compipa me salvaste

Thanks! This one saved me :)

gr8 trick…i want to know such tips ..keep the good wrk going on

what a great genius are you !!
thank you very much

Brilliant! So simple. I was getting ready to hack the registry :)
Thank you!

thank you

Thanks! This is exactly what I was looking for as it was the first time I experienced a missing “System” folder in the Group Policy Editor.

THANK YOU! This fixed my issue!

Thanks ! :)

Great!
You saved my life!!

Nice! Thanks!

you are the best
best answer ever

great…. was lookin for it long time

Thanks for the post, I had searched for a solution for a long time. this one has really worked. ns

thank you so much i find my problem’s solution from here. thank you!

Hi Jais,

thanks a bundle..
its really work.

That was really helpful. Thanks very much

Carlton Barnett

I wanted add myself to the list of people for whom this info is, was and, probably for many years to come will be, very useful. THANK YOU!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

